top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureangeladefrost

Script Sample

[silhouette art] Prof. Abbot: Miss Strudwick!

[novelty]

I thought I was waiting for this moment all those years, however, it didn’t feel magical or any different from any casual day. Only that for once I had to wear a dress.

This piece of paper compiles all the years of hard work I spend on this university… and quite a satisfying grade that I have achieved.

This should feel much more powerful, but going towards Prof. Abbot I feel nothing else than satisfaction.

But this simple diploma is going to let me be heard, and make my father proud. My talents in the economy were surely inherited from him, and through even more years of hard work, in companies that he surely heard of, I will finally…!

Oh, Father. I wonder how are you doing?

I am already 25 years old, and yet mother still treats me like a child. She wouldn’t even let me know where he is! But, becoming an economist like him is the first step to finding him…

I was ready to exit the ceremony, when…

???: Elizabeth!

Beth: I know that voice… was it…  was it Mr. Smith? Looking for me?

Beth (blush): U-uhm… Yes, Mr. Smith?

Mark Smith: Oh, Elizabeth, I would hope that right now we can be past that? You are not my student anymore.

Beth: Oh! I am sorry, Mr-ugh… M-Mark!

Mark (chuckles): There you go. Look, uhm… I wanted to talk with you privately, if you have a moment?

Beth:…sure!

—office—

Mark: Thank you for your time. Would you like something to drink?

Beth: No, thank you. So… what is this about?

Mark: Well… I was wondering if you have gotten any offers yet?

Beth (shocked): …offers?

Mark: Work offers, I mean. After all, you have passed with flying colors… University usually doesn’t let such people go without a fight!

Beth: Well, they did ask me, but… I don’t think teaching is my forte. I am going to look for a job that focuses on the economy and how it can help our community…

Mark: Of course… your dedication always shines through…

Beth (blushes): Did he… look at me somewhat, differently?

Mark: I would have such a job for you, young lady.

Beth:…pardon?

Beth: Of course I knew Mark had a company of his own, that focused on economic analysis. But surely, he couldn’t mean…

Mark: One of my employees moved out of the country, and so… I have an empty position. Since it happened just as you graduated, I thought it was heaven’s doing.

Beth: B-But… Are you serious?! Your company has years of practice, I didn’t think you employed people just with a degree…

Mark: No, neither I or any other member of the board would agree on that.

Beth: Then why…?

Mark: Because I saw your talents and abilities, and because the board trusts me. I made many risky decisions in the past, and most of the time I was right.

Beth: O-Of course…

Beth: When I first heard about his company, I realized it was back in my hometown.

Beth: I wanted to ask him about my father, but that wasn’t exactly in good tone, or so I thought. I was a student, he was a lecturer that was ten years older than me.

Beth: But if I truly become his employee… I will be back in my hometown! Maybe… I can meet my dad?

***

Beth’s apartment 1st of August

[novelty]

And it happened. I am right there… back home. It really feels like home, seeing the old places I missed so much. But new places make me feel like a stranger… so much has changed since I last was here.

I am not sure how to search for my father, and whether I should. August has started, and it’s Saturday. I have already unpacked, and I have free afternoon. I could always see what my old house has become?

CHOICE:

VISIT MY OLD HOUSE [REALISM +1]

DO SOMETHING ELSE

Choice A:

Yes, I should see. What is the worst that could happen? I have the right to walk down the street, and I will probably just see some unknown family or person. I bet dad just… moved somewhere else.

I wish I could just… bump into him on the street. That would make things much, much easier.

—on the road—

Beth: Okay, just around the corner…

Beth: Oh! That’s our house! Feels so… nostalgic…

Beth: It is in the good shape so there is someone-

Beth: Oh!

Beth: That’s… that is my father! I can’t believe it!

Beth: I could just…

[novelty]

A beautiful woman and a teenage girl came out, too.

REPORT THIS AD

They… hugged him. He even kissed the woman.

They look happy. Really, really happy.

This is.. what Mom has taken away from me.

Choice B

Beth: That’s… creepy, let’s just do something else!

CHOICE:

-READ A BOOK [SMART+1]

-WATCH TV – ECONOMY [PASSIONATE +1]

-WATCH TV – FASHION [TRENDY+1]

-CREATE NEW OUTFITS [TRENDY+2, ALICE +1]

-JOIN CHAT ONLINE [CONFIDENT+1]

-CALL MARK [CONFIDENT+2, MARK+1]

-GO OUT [CONFIDENT+3]

92 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page